Monday, September 10, 2012

FHA Guideline Change Expected

FHA : "Ignore" Foreclosures, Bankruptcy, Short Sales? 

Major derogatory events include foreclosure, short sale, and Chapter 7 bankruptcy. Current guidelines require a mandatory waiting period of each of the following events, assuming credit has been re-established by the borrower :
  • Foreclosure : Waiting period of  3 years since sale date of foreclosure before eligible for FHA-insured financing
  • Short Sale : Must wait 3 years from consummation of short sale closing before eligible for FHA-insured financing
  • Chapter 7 Bankruptcy : Must wait 2 years from Bankruptcy discharge before eligible for FHA-insured financing
Under the FHA's expected new plan (anticipated within the next 90 days or sooner), these waiting periods will be waived in full.  Soon, FHA-insured loans may be available to home buyers who may have been recently foreclosed upon; for whom a short sale was necessary; or for whom a Chapter 7 bankruptcy was discharged yesterday.

The FHA's new waiver on foreclosures, short sales and bankruptcies would add to the national pool of home buyers, creating buy-side demand for housing and upward pressure for home values nationwide. 


2nd of 10 clever ways to save money on your mortgage!

2. Cut Out the PMI PMI protects the lender in case of loan default If you borrow more than 80% of the value of your home, you normally...

Most viewed in the past 30 days